GloFouling Webinar Series

Raising the bar in in-water cleaning

presented by: 

Ashok Srinivasan (key speaker), Manager, Department of Maritime Technology & Regulation, BIMCO

Aron Sørensen (panellist), Head, Marine Environment Department, BIMCO

Cleaning a ship’s submerged parts from barnacles and other growths, while the ship is in the water, can transfer invasive species to local marine environments unless it is properly cleaned and the debris is captured. To combat this problem, and to provide clarity and quality assurance to shipowners, ports and government authorities, BIMCO and the International Chamber of Shipping (ICS) have published the first industry standard on in-water cleaning of ships, which was published in January 2021. The presentation will inform about the work of the industry working group, the content, and the next steps that will be taken to raise the bar in in-water cleaning.

Date: 

Time: 

Friday, 5 March 2021

9:00am (EST), 2:00pm (GMT), 3:00pm (CET), 7:30pm (IST), 9:00pm (WIB)

Key Speaker: Ashok Srinivasan holds a position as a Manager, Maritime Safety and Security at BIMCO, Ashok is responsible for coordinating BIMCO’s initiative on a variety of technical and regulations related matters specifically on Navigation, Fire Safety, LSA, Ballast water management, Tanker safety to name a few. He also represents BIMCO at IACS (International Association of Classification Societies) Advisory Committee, which advises IACS on quality matters.
Ashok is an experienced seafarer with 18 years of experience in the maritime sector. He started his career with A.P. Moller Maersk and has sailed on a variety of ships including containers, car carriers, oil tankers (crude and product), gas tankers (LPG and LNG) in the maritime shipping (13 years) and platform supply vessels & cable layers in the offshore sector (3years).

Panellist: Aron Sorensen holds the position as head of the Marine Environment Department managing BIMCO’s role relating to environmental and operational related matters at a number of international organizations.
His tasks include negotiating, monitoring and disseminating relevant conventions and developing international standards, regional/national requirements, and assessing their impact on BIMCO members. He has furthermore been the project leader on a number of industry standards including the In-water cleaning standard for in-water cleaning with capture.

Registration now open

© 2019 by GEF-UNDP-IMO GloFouling Partnerships.