5

GloFouling Webinar Series

Lessons learned through implementing and enforcing California’s biofouling management regulations

presented by: 

Chris Scianni, Senior Environmental Scientist, Marine Invasive Species Program, California State Lands Commission

The State of California adopted biofouling management regulations in 2017 for vessels arriving at California ports. These regulations were developed over ten years by the California State Lands Commission through a transparent, science-based, stakeholder-involved process to create a set of regulations that are protective, practical, and that align with international efforts. As vessels incrementally fall under the jurisdiction of these regulations based on each vessel’s dry-docking schedule, staff from the California State Lands Commission continue to provide outreach and education to ease the transition to this new regulatory landscape. They also evaluate responses to mandatory reporting forms and inspect arriving vessels to assess compliance with the new regulations with an eye towards identifying successful biofouling management strategies and opportunities to improve the regulations in the future. This webinar will highlight some of the key points and lessons learned from this continued analysis that can be very useful for other administrations, ship owners and operators.

Date: 

Time: 

Thursday, 23 April 2020

9:00 am (PDT), 11:00 am (CDT), 1:00 pm (ADT), 5:00 pm (BST), 9:30 pm (IST)

Chris has led the development of California’s biofouling management regulations and continues to work with marine scientists and inspection teams to implement and enforce these regulations. Chris is also one of a small group of scientific divers in North America with experience diving and collecting biological samples from commercial ships. Chris’ academic background includes a BSc in Marine Biology from California State University, Long Beach and n MSc in Marine Science with an emphasis in Biological Oceanography from Moss Landing Marine Laboratories through California State University, Stanislaus.

Webinar closed, recording available here

© 2019 by GEF-UNDP-IMO GloFouling Partnerships.