7

GloFouling Webinar Series

Vessel-Check: an aquatic biosecurity risk assessment tool

presented by: 

Dave Abdo, Senior Scientist - Aquatic Pest Biosecurity, Department of Primary Industries and Regional Development, Government of Western Australia

The presentation will describe the vessel risk assessment portal “Vessel-Check” which provides comprehensive, transparent, consistent and science based method to aid the maritime industry and governments in identifying actions that can as low as reasonably practicable mitigate the risk of vessels transferring IAS across the world’s oceans. The Vessel-Check portal aids in the early detection of vessel mediated biofouling and allows for more effective risk management options. The portal is also designed for vessel owners/operators to provide information to biosecurity management agencies.
Vessel-Check has been developed by the government of Western Australia, in collaboration with DHI.

Date: 

Time: 

Wednesday, 10 June 2020

6:00 am (ADT), 10:00 am (BST), 2:30 pm (IST), 4:00 pm (ICT), 6:30 pm (ACST)

Dr Dave Abdo is a senior scientist within the Aquatic Pest Biosecurity section at the Department of Primary Industries and Regional Development (DPIRD), which is the lead agency for biosecurity in the state of Western Australia. Dr Abdo has a strong background in benthic ecology and invertebrate biology, specialising in aquatic biosecurity. He has worked in both industry and government sectors, and his current work within the Aquatic Pest Biosecurity section includes designing/conducting biosecurity surveillance programs through to managing emergency marine pest responses and providing strategic aquatic biosecurity advice.

Webinar closed, recording available here

© 2019 by GEF-UNDP-IMO GloFouling Partnerships.